Search for what Momence costs and you get five answers. Exercise.com says pricing "starts at around $99/month and can go up to $250+" and that exact pricing is not listed publicly. Vibefam says studios report "$250 per month at the lower end to $2,000+ per month." WellnessLiving says "$20 to $80/month." A Reddit thread in r/YogaTeachers, which is the top result for how much does Momence cost, lands on "$20/month to $60/month, if you're a studio with staff it will likely be around $300+."
Those articles are not contradicting each other so much as guessing. Momence's pricing page is gated. We filled in the form in August 2026 to see it, and this article is what was behind it.
We make Corterra Book, which competes with Momence, so read our own row with that in mind. Everything below that is attributed to Momence is what their own pricing page stated at the time of writing, and everywhere we could not confirm something we say so rather than filling the gap.
In a hurry? Jump to the four tiers, when free stops being free, what we could not confirm, or how Corterra Book approaches this.
The short answer
- Four tiers: Basic (free), Individual ($60/mo), Business ($199/mo), and Custom (quoted, annual contract).
- The subscription is not where the money goes. Card processing is 3.9% + $0.30 online, which is roughly a full percentage point above a standard pass-through rate, and it applies on every tier.
- The free plan is not free. It carries a 5% transaction fee and a 4% service fee. Even a very small studio doing $2,500 a month pays roughly $225 to $355 on it. On a solo practitioner running $8,000 a month, that is somewhere between $720 and $1,062.
- Free stops being cheaper than the $199 plan somewhere between roughly $2,200 and $4,000 a month in card volume. That is the single most useful number in this article. Skip to the arithmetic if it is all you came for.
- Everything that drives rebooking is a separate line item. Marketing, leads, reviews, referrals and last-minute spot filling are paid add-ons or Custom-tier only, and none of their prices are published.
How much does Momence cost a month?
Four tiers, retrieved through their gated pricing form in August 2026:
| Tier | Price | Built for | What it adds |
|---|---|---|---|
| Basic | Free plus 5% transaction and 4% service fee | Solo operators doing appointments | Payments, scheduling, memberships, CRM, limited reporting. A studio doing just $2,500 a month pays roughly $225 to $355 on this plan, which is the range the whole article is about. |
| Individual | $60/mo | Solo operators running appointments or classes | Total sales and total bookings reports, live trainings, email and chat support |
| Business | $199/mo | Class-based businesses at one location | Full reporting, segmentation, gift cards, retail products, unlimited teacher accounts, no customer limit, multiple staff, no service charge |
| Custom | Quoted annual contract required | Growing businesses and franchises | Marketing and lead management, communication suite, referrals, reviews, phone support, onboarding and data migration |
Where that $225 to $355 comes from, because it is worth seeing on a small number before the bigger ones later. Take $2,500 a month in card volume:
- Low end, about $225. If the 5% and 4% are inclusive of card processing, you pay 9% of $2,500 and nothing else.
- High end, about $355. If they stack on top of processing, add 3.9% ($97.50) plus $0.30 per transaction on top of that same $225.
- In between, about $230 to $255 if the 4% service fee is charged to your customer rather than to you, leaving you the 5% plus processing.
One thing worth noticing: how you earn the $2,500 barely matters. Twenty $125 appointments or a hundred $25 class bookings differ by about $24 on the whole month, because the per-transaction charge is only $0.30. It is the percentage that moves the number, and a percentage does not care whether you sell classes or services. That is why the range above is driven entirely by the fee question we could not resolve, not by your mix.
Two things in the tier table matter more than the prices.
First, Business is the tier that explicitly says "no service charge." Basic and Individual do not carry that line. The plain reading is that the service charge follows you up to $199 a month, which means the $60 tier may not be the fee escape it looks like. We flag this as an inference rather than a fact, because their page does not spell it out either way, and it is the first thing to ask on a sales call.
Second, onboarding and data migration are Custom-tier only. If you are moving from another platform with a live member base, the tier that helps you move is the one with an annual contract attached.
What Momence charges to process a card
This is the number that actually decides the cost of the platform, and it applies on every tier.
| Payment type | Momence rate (US) | Typical pass-through rate |
|---|---|---|
| Online card | 3.9% + $0.30 | 2.9% + $0.30 |
| In-person card | 3.7% + $0.05 | 2.7% + $0.05 |
| ACH direct debit | 1.8% | 0.8%, commonly capped |
The gap is roughly one percentage point on every card you run, and a percentage point compounds with your success rather than your headcount. At $10,000 a month in card volume that is about $100. At $30,000 a month it is about $300, which is more than the Business subscription itself. A studio growing into the platform pays the increase, not the platform.
This is also why the subscription tier is a poor proxy for cost. Two studios on the same $199 plan can pay hundreds of dollars a month apart from each other, and neither number appears on any pricing page.
The free plan is the expensive one
Basic is free to subscribe to and carries a 5% transaction fee and a 4% service fee. Those two lines are what the whole "free plan" question turns on.
Here is what their page does not specify, and we are not going to guess on your behalf:
- Whether the 5% and 4% sit on top of the 3.9% + $0.30 processing rate, or are inclusive of it.
- Whether the 4% service fee is charged to you or added to the customer's checkout total. Service fees in this category are frequently passed to the buyer, which changes who feels it but not whether it exists.
So take a solo practitioner doing $8,000 a month in card volume across roughly 100 transactions at an $80 average ticket, and price both readings.
| Reading | Fees | Processing | Monthly total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fees include processing | 9% of $8,000 = $720 | included | $720 · 9.0% |
| Fees stack on top | 9% of $8,000 = $720 | $342 | $1,062 · 13.3% |
| Customer pays the 4% | 5% of $8,000 = $400 | $342 | $742 · 9.3% |
Every reading lands north of $700 a month on a plan advertised as free. The spread between the best and worst case is $342, which matters, but the finding does not depend on resolving it. Even the most charitable interpretation costs more than three times the $199 tier.
For scale, the same $8,000 a month on the $199 Business plan is $199 plus $342 in processing, or about $541. The paid plan is cheaper than the free one, and it is not close.
When free stops being free
Set the free plan's fees equal to the Business subscription and solve for volume. That is the point where paying $199 a month becomes the cheaper decision.
| If the fee you bear is | Free plan matches $199/mo at |
|---|---|
| 9%, both fees on you | about $2,200 a month in card volume |
| 5%, customer pays the rest | about $4,000 a month in card volume |
Call it $2,200 to $4,000 a month, or very roughly 30 to 50 clients at an $80 ticket. Below that, free is genuinely the right plan. Above it, staying on free costs you money every single month, quietly, and nothing in the product is going to tell you that the line has been crossed.
That is the real criticism, and it is worth separating from the fee rate itself. A percentage-of-revenue plan is a legitimate pricing model, and for a brand new practitioner with four clients it is genuinely generous. The problem is that it becomes wrong at exactly the moment you stop having time to audit it. A studio that grows from $2,000 to $9,000 a month over a year does not get a prompt. It gets a slowly increasing deduction.
If you take one action from this article: work out your last three months of card volume, multiply by 0.09, and compare it to $199.
The add-ons nobody prices
Eight features are sold separately on top of whatever tier you are on. None of their prices are published.
| Add-on | What it does |
|---|---|
| Email and SMS Marketing | Automated customer journeys and campaigns triggered by client actions and milestones |
| Leads | Lead forms, messaging and conversion tools |
| Customer Reviews | Automated review requests and Google review management |
| Customer Referrals | Automated referral program |
| Spotfiller | Last-minute discounted offers by text or push to fill empty class spots |
| Automatic Teacher Substitutions | Text sub requests, dashboard approvals, pay rate updates |
| On-Demand | Video sales, subscriptions, courses, drip content, quizzes, audio |
| Bookkeeping | Transaction categorization and accounting software sync |
Read the top five as a group. Marketing, leads, reviews, referrals and spot filling are the entire retention and rebooking layer, and all five are either a metered add-on or bundled into the Custom tier with its annual contract. The Business plan at $199 buys you a very capable operational system that does not, on its own, bring anybody back.
Note also that Business lists "access to paid add-ons at retail price" as a feature. That phrasing implies the tiers below it either cannot buy the add-ons or do not get retail pricing on them. Worth a direct question.
Two of these are genuinely good products and deserve credit. Spotfiller solves a real problem well, and if you run a class timetable with recurring empty spots it may pay for itself outright. The manual alternative, if you would rather not buy it, is in how to fill empty class spots at your studio. Automatic Teacher Substitutions is a problem most platforms in this category ignore entirely. Neither is a criticism. The criticism is only that you cannot price your own configuration before a sales call.
What we could not confirm
Publishing the gaps is the point of the exercise, so:
- Whether the 5% and 4% stack on top of the 3.9% + $0.30. Not stated. This is the single biggest swing in every number above, worth $130 a month at $2,500 in volume and $342 at $8,000.
- Whether the $60 Individual tier still carries the fees. Only Business says "no service charge," which implies Individual does carry it, but implication is not confirmation.
- The Custom tier's price floor. Not published, and an annual contract is required.
- Every add-on price. Not published.
- Whether processing rates are negotiable at volume. Most platforms in this category will move on this and none advertise that they will.
If you get answers to these, they are worth more than any comparison article, this one included. Ask in writing and keep the reply.
What to ask before you sign
Five questions, in the order that costs you the most money to get wrong:
- "On the free plan, is the 5% and 4% charged in addition to the 3.9% + $0.30, or does it include it?" Get this in writing.
- "Does the $60 Individual plan remove the transaction and service fees, or only the $199 plan?"
- "What do the marketing, leads and reviews add-ons cost per month, at my size?" Price your actual configuration, not the tier.
- "Is the Custom tier annual contract auto-renewing, and what is the notice period?"
- "What is my processing rate at my volume, and does it improve?"
Then do the one test that no pricing page answers. During the trial, open the customer-facing booking page rather than the staff dashboard, and put through the most complicated thing you sell: a member booking a covered session, or two people booking one appointment and paying once. Watch what the customer has to do. Most platforms let a staff member assemble anything by hand, and far fewer let the customer do it alone.
Where Momence genuinely fits
Skipping this is how comparison articles lose credibility, so:
- A brand new solo practitioner with low volume. Below roughly $2,000 a month in card volume, a free plan with percentage fees really is the cheapest way to start, and the product is a great deal more capable than most free tiers.
- Class-led studios at one location. The $199 Business tier with unlimited teacher accounts and no customer cap is aggressive on seat count. If you have eight instructors, per-seat platforms get expensive fast and this one does not.
- Studios that want on-demand video, which most booking platforms do not attempt at all.
- Timetables with chronic empty spots, because Spotfiller is a genuinely well-targeted product.
The recurring theme in public reviews on Capterra and Trustpilot is billing surprises rather than missing features, which is consistent with everything above: the software is capable, and the cost is hard to predict in advance. Both things are true at once.
Want the same numbers from a platform that prices the other way? See how Corterra Book approaches this.
How Corterra Book approaches this
Corterra Book took the opposite position on the same question, so here it is plainly enough to argue with.
We never take a percentage of a booking. Processing is Stripe's standard card rates paid directly by you, plus a flat 15 cents per transaction from us. Fifteen cents does not grow when your average ticket does, and it does not grow when you have a good month. Plans are $40 a month Basic and $80 a month Pro, and every add-on price is published on the pricing page rather than quoted.
The same solo practitioner from the arithmetic above, at $8,000 a month across 100 transactions:
| Platform | Subscription | Processing and fees | Monthly total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Momence Basic (free) | $0 | $720 to $1,062 | $720 to $1,062 |
| Momence Business | $199 | $342 | $541 |
| Corterra Book Basic | $40 | $232 Stripe + $45 our per-transaction fee | $317 |
Now the honest part, because a comparison you cannot trust is worth nothing:
- Below about $700 a month in card volume, Momence's free plan is cheaper than our $40 plan and you should hear that from us. A percentage of very little is very little.
- We have no consumer marketplace. If discovery is your actual problem, that is a real gap on our side and no amount of processing savings fixes it.
- We do not offer on-demand video, payroll, accounting sync or a loyalty program. If you want one vendor for all of that, we are the wrong shape.
- Data migration is concierge and done on request, not a self-serve feature. We do not charge for it or put it behind an annual contract, but it is a conversation rather than a button.
What we are built around is a studio selling appointments, classes and shared-capacity sessions side by side: a sauna or contrast suite with a seat count that draws down as people book, running on the same calendar and the same checkout as one-to-one appointments. That mix is covered in detail in sauna booking software: what studio owners actually need and, for a full multi-service facility, in wellness center software: booking rooms and equipment, not just staff. If your business is a class timetable and nothing else, a class-first platform is a reasonable answer and Momence is one of them.
FAQ
How much does Momence cost a month? Momence has four tiers: Basic is free, Individual is $60 a month, Business is $199 a month, and Custom is quoted with an annual contract required. The subscription is only part of the cost. Card processing is 3.9% + $0.30 online and 3.7% + $0.05 in person on every tier, and the free Basic tier additionally carries a 5% transaction fee and a 4% service fee.
How much does Momence cost a small studio? At $2,500 a month in card volume, the free Basic plan works out at roughly $225 to $355 a month in fees, depending on whether the 5% and 4% stack on top of card processing or include it. How you earn that $2,500 barely matters: twenty $125 appointments and a hundred $25 class bookings differ by only about $24 a month, because the per-transaction charge is $0.30 and the percentage is what does the work.
Is Momence really free? The Basic tier has no subscription cost, but it carries a 5% transaction fee and a 4% service fee on top of card processing. A solo practitioner running $8,000 a month in card volume pays roughly $720 to $1,062 a month in fees on that plan. The free tier is cheaper than the $199 Business plan only below roughly $2,200 to $4,000 a month in card volume.
What are Momence's transaction fees? Card processing in the US is 3.9% + $0.30 for online payments, 3.7% + $0.05 for in-person card payments, and 1.8% for ACH direct debit. The free Basic tier adds a 5% transaction fee and a 4% service fee. The Business tier at $199 a month states that it carries no service charge.
Why do articles disagree about Momence's pricing? Momence's pricing page requires filling in a form, so most third-party articles are working from older figures, from a single tier, or from what individual studios have reported paying. Published estimates range from $20 a month to $2,000 a month, which reflects different tiers and different add-on configurations rather than a single list price.
Does Momence charge extra for marketing and SMS? Yes. Email and SMS marketing, leads, customer reviews, customer referrals, Spotfiller, automatic teacher substitutions, on-demand video and bookkeeping are all sold as separate paid add-ons, and their prices are not published. Marketing and lead management are also included in the quoted Custom tier.
Does Momence include data migration? Onboarding and data migration are listed under the Custom tier, which is quoted and requires an annual contract. The Basic, Individual and Business tiers do not list migration support.
Is Momence cheaper than Mindbody? On subscription alone, usually yes: Momence's Business tier is $199 a month against Mindbody's advertised $79 a month entry tier that gates reporting and campaigns behind two higher quoted tiers. The comparison changes once processing is included, since Momence's 3.9% online rate applies to everything you sell. We work through it in Momence vs Mindbody.
What are the alternatives to Momence? For class-led studios, Punchpass and Mindbody are the direct comparisons. For appointment-led work, Vagaro and Acuity are cheaper entry points, which we cover in Mindbody vs Vagaro. For small wellness studios generally, see Mindbody alternatives for small wellness studios, and for the wider field, spa scheduling software: what to look for and what it costs. For a studio selling appointments, classes and shared-capacity sessions together, that mix is what Corterra Book is built around.
Prices are what Momence's pricing page stated in August 2026, retrieved through their gated form. Pricing pages change and add-on line-ups change with them, so confirm current numbers directly and get the fee-stacking answer in writing. If the mixed appointment, class and shared-session case is yours, start a 15 day free trial of Corterra Book, or walk a live booking flow first and see what a customer has to do before you talk to anyone.
